Posted by: senseimeri | January 24, 2011

Easter Island…?

The very first time I saw this sight was not on Easter Island, but on the coast of Miyazaki. I have no idea why there are replicas in Miyazaki, but I find it fascinating how things from so far away can affect the lives of people all around the world. Easter Island is still a mystery, which is why so many people are interested in it.

Why and how do you think people (or things) created such statues? Is there a reason why such a small island had so much culture? Is there really a connection between the living and the dead? These are some of the things I wonder about.

What kind of places are you curious about? Are there any mysterious places in Japan? If you know of any, please tell me! Anyway here is a link to the place in Miyazaki. I don’t understand the Japanese on the website, so I have no idea why it exists, but maybe some of you can translate it for me into English 😉 Maybe a possible homework assignment? 😛

http://www.sun-messe.co.jp/mystery/index.html

Leave a Reply

Categories

